Vegetable Juice benefits

juice.jpg

For the last few months I have enjoyed a glass of fresh home made juice every morning. I sip it slowly for at least half an hour so that I do not get a carb rush, and give my body time to absorb all of the abundant vitamins.

Before I started having juice I would have a coffee each morning to get me started. Although the Caffeine did get me activated, after an hour or two I would hit a slump. Since I have been having the juice instead of coffee, I feel like my energy level is much higher and is sustained throughout the day.

My juices always contain celery and carrots, and normally apple and beetroot, although sometimes it is nice to vary the recipe. I am told that vegetable juices are far more beneficial than fruit, so I always make sure that I have mostly vegetables in the blend.

juiceingredients.jpg

The juicer which I have finely shreds the vegetables to extract the juice, however there are others which macerate the vegetables. These are supposed to be superior as they do not heat the vegetables and therefore do not damage any nutritional content. They also apparently extract more juice and nutrients, and some also have other attachments for mincing, pasta making etc.

~ by aadbro on January 6, 2007.

2 Responses to “Vegetable Juice benefits”

  1. Dude, don’t mix vegetables and fruit.

    I am doing the same thing: http://www.veggiejuice.blogspot.com

    check it out.

  2. Thanks for the comment. There are some reasons for separating fruit and vegetables, including food allergies and intolerances to fruit, and the sometimes high sugar content of fruits. It is not always that simple however.

    Some vegetables have a quite high sugar content as well (eg carrots, beetroot), and some so called vegetable are actually fruit, with all the drawbacks. This includes tomatoes, capsicums, etc.

    Reasons to mix fruit and vegetables include improving the taste and adding a better balance of nutrients.

Leave a Reply

 
