Soy Free Diet

I love soy foods, but unfortunately my naturopath tells me that I should restrict my intake.

I have done some research, and it appears that soy contains a high level of oestrogen as well as indigestible compounds which I am not familiar with. Other peas and beans are not as toxic.

This means that soy foods such as soy milk and tofu should either not be eaten, or in very limited amounts. Apparently fermentation destroys the toxic compounds so that foods like soy sauce, tempeh and natto are safe to eat.

This further restricts anyone who cannot eat milk products, but you can also obtain other milks like almond or rice milk which can be used instead of soy. I do not know of any cheese or tofu alternatives, but would be interested if anyone else does.

~ by aadbro on January 5, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
